Some rights reserved by paparutzi

Halloween is officially over, and I can almost smell the turkey. If I squint, I think I might even be able to see some Valentine’s Day candy from here.

It’s that time of year again.

That’s right.

It’s time for the Holiday Blog Tour!

What is the Holiday Blog Tour?

The idea behind the Holiday Blog Tour is simple.

During the month of December a number of bloggers will commit to post a holiday themed post on a particular day and direct the readers of that post to the next day’s blogger.

It’s kind of like one of those Advent calendars with goodies inside. One day you might open the door and find a piece of chocolate. The next day you might find a small toy. The day after that you might find a tiny painting. Every day brings something new, unexpected, and delightful.

New and Improved in 2012

Last year, the Holiday Blog Tour was for writers and poets, but this year the tour is open to artists and musicians, as well, and I’m excited to see what they have in store for us. Will a musician write a new song to save us from yet another light jazz remix of “Jingle Bells?” Will a painter show us a side of the holiday we’ve never seen before?

Why I love the Holiday Blog Tour

The Holiday Blog Tour is a new tradition–Icess Fernandez Rojas founded it just last year–but it’s already becoming one of my favorites.

Of course, I always appreciate the opportunity to meet and interview new-to-me writers, but I was surprised by just how much I got out of the tour last year. It was a relief to have a commitment that forced me to stop the hustle and bustle and blogging business as usual and reflect.

Last year, that meant taking a few hours to write “Christmas in the Market,” a story that forced me to acknowledge and sit with the difficult time I was having adjusting to Christmas in California after spending the first twenty-five years of my life in New England.

The blog tour was also a welcome opportunity to break from the endless wheel of self-promotion and allow the spirit of the holidays to infuse my blogging by giving airtime to others.

How to join the Holiday Blog Tour

Icess is currently taking applications for the new Holiday Blog Tour on her blog.

The deadline to apply is November 10th. Tour dates will be announced on November 12th, and the tour begins on December 3rd.

So, will you join us? 

 

If so, I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

