On Sunday, I taught a writing workshop at Workshop Weekend, which was amazing but exhausting.
Fortunately, I was at a place in my novel where writing was actually relaxing. I was charting new territory. I wanted to know what happened, and I actually managed to write almost two day’s worth of words the day after I taught the class. Lucky me, right?

It helped that one of my workshop students asked a question that touched on something that I’ve been struggling with. I don’t know about you, but I find it so much easier to think through a problem when I’m talking about it with someone else. Maybe, it’s just because it’s easier to escape the “that’s bullshit” face when I’m the one making it. When it’s someone else, I have to actually confront the problem.

But that’s beside the point. More about that later next Monday.

In this case, the question was about how to make a boring story stop being boring. I’m not sure if the advice I gave actually helped the person who was asking about it, but it got me through a snag the next time I sat down to work on my novel this past Monday. The advice I gave was to blow something up, do something unexpected to force the writer to stop writing by rote.

When I stopped writing on Friday, my protagonist’s boss was leaning over to kiss her, and I had the weekend to decide if she was going to be a good girl and wipe him off her mouth as soon as he was out of sight or if she was going to kiss back. On Friday, I was pretty sure she was going to reject him–at least in her head–but on Monday I decided to let her just go for it. Now she’s in a mess of trouble, and I’m having so much fun, and my word count continues to climb…

