One of the most difficult things for me to accept about the writing process is that there are days when it just isn’t happening.

Yesterday was one of those days, and it was bad–six hours to meet a word count goal that usually takes me two hours to meet bad–so when Vicki Boykis tweeted a link to gifme.io, I gave up with all the enthusiasm a Doctor Who fan can muster and spent the next hour pummeling Leander with David Tennant gifs. Even though his favorite Doctor is Christopher Eccleston.* Apparently, I’m a terrible spouse.

And apparently one can only do this for so long without getting a little giddy.

“I should just write a novel in gifs,” I thought, “But only David Tennant gifs.”

Gif-David Tennant thought this was an excellent idea.

And I thought, “I bet I can get Gif-David Tennant to agree to anything.”

Then it hit me…

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 1.43.32 PM

And so, that is how Ask the Doctor was born.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 1.45.04 PM

Now, I should be clear that this mostly wasn’t my doing. Unless putting together a list of gifs and watching over Leander’s shoulder and criticizing his code (I can’t code.) counts as doing something. So, if Gif-David Tennant tells you that beer battered Lucky Charms is a balanced breakfast, it isn’t entirely…entirely my fault.

*Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 2.09.47 PM

 

