Back in December, I decided to take a short break from most things on the Internet, and now it’s May, and this may be the longest break I’ve taken from blogging since 1999. With such a long time away, I feel like I should be coming back with deep hermitic wisdom, but the most valuable thing I took away from the experience was a clearer understanding of who I am and how I work best.

I may or may not write more about that later,* but coming back to this site felt a little bit like waking up in a strange hotel wearing an 80s prom dress. So, after this post, kristyharding.com will be moving from WordPress to squarespace. If you’re following with RSS, you shouldn’t need to change any of your settings. If you’re following on WordPress, you will probably need to find another way to subscribe.

New posts and updates from elsewhere will still go out to Twitter, and I’ll still get DMs and replies, but I won’t be hanging out on Twitter much anymore. This was a hard decision because there are a lot of great folks on Twitter, but Twitter’s all about pithiness and speed. I’m a fiction writer not a reporter. It takes me a long time to process the news and respond, and unless a volcano in the Cascades wakes up, there isn’t much I need to know before it shows up in my inbox or Feedly.

That said, less time on Twitter means more time for Instagram and Pinterest. If you’re over there, and we haven’t connected yet, I hope you’ll say, “Hello!”

So, that just about wraps it up for housecleaning.

Stay tuned for more significant news in June or July. (No, I’m not pregnant.)

*I’m going to continue to post news updates on publications and things, but I’m on the fence about picking up blogging again. If you’ve read this far, and you have an opinion on the subject, I’d love to hear from you.

